Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
twonicklefarms

Rhode Island Reds Tail feathers missing??

twonicklefarms
14 years ago

Hello all!

I'm new here so I hope someone can help??!! I just got 29 Rhode Island Red laying hens and noticed that many of their tail featheres were missing (over half)?? Is it possible that they are just moulting? The farmer I purchased them from told me they were about 40 weeks old and were good layers. I'm told they peak at about 35 weeks or so and then slowly decline in egg production from there, but produce well into their 2nd/3rd year. I've only got about 2 eggs a day from ALL 29! Could the stress of the move be effecting egg production? Any help would be appreciated.

Steve in NJ

Comments (19)

• luke_oh
    14 years ago

Hi Steve, I'm no chicken expert, but I know that any type of stress will throw them off laying. How long have you had them? They will also slow down due to shorter days and weather change. Also, are you feeding the same feed as the guy you got them from? wouldn't worry too much about their tail feathers at this point. They should settle into their new surroundings and start laying soon. A light on a timer will help them, too. Good Luck.

Luke

• twonicklefarms
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks Luke!

I have only had them 5 days. I didn't expect tons of eggs right away but I thought 1 or 2 a day was not much considering I have 29 chickens. We got two today. The light on a timer, should that be outside or in the coop?

Thanks for the reply!

• luke_oh
    14 years ago

Put it inside where they are laying. If you can, hardwire a light fixture. If you use a wall plug, I suggest that you use a GFCI outlet, a little more expensive, but it's cheap insurance. Let us know when egg production picks up. Just a thought, do you have enough floor and nesting space?

Luke

• prmsdlndfrm
    14 years ago