Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
roberta_z5

What can I put in my septic tank?

Roberta_z5
18 years ago

I have a toilet that has black moldy water in it. I want to fill it with ammonia, but wonder if that is going to be detrimental to my septic system? I know I can't fill it with bleach. What do you suggest?

Also, is there a septic tank "digester" or something that cleans it out quickly without having to have it pumped? I can smell a bad odor coming from the stack and wonder if my septic tank is full? Don't know how that could be since we just started living here full time this summer and the tank was just put in two years ago. (We are small people and we really don't eat very much!!!)

Comments (37)

• BelindaM
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I am not an expert on septic systems, but after living in the country I had to learn. There are two types here in the south. A modat system, that churns up and uses lots of electricity and deposits clean water in the place you want it. At my house we have a septic tank that works on biology. We have an airater that pumps air at all times, and we have to be careful of what we put down our drains. We have a garbage desposal and we use bleach, but we balance it with brewers yeast to eat the starches and the protiens that we send into the system. You can use RIDEX to eat and promote a good balance of your system. We have never had to have sytem pummed for over 8 years. We have a good drain field and keep up with the balance of nature.

• dunwaukin
    18 years ago

Why does your toilet have black moldy water in it? do you mean in the bowl or in the tank?? You shouldn't need to "fill" it with ammonia - usually the dilution is suggested on the label.