Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
acer_gw

Am I ruining my eggs by washing them this way?

acer
14 years ago

I'm new to collecting and washing eggs, and I'm afraid I'm doing it wrong. These are duck eggs which can sometimes be a little on the dirty side. Here's my method:

We live on a clear mountain creek, and for caked-on mess, I sometimes use a handful of clean creek sand to scour them. Then I wash them with mild soap, and finish up with a short soak in a diluted bleach solution. They come out pristine-clean, germ-free, and beautiful. But I read somewhere about removing some kind of "bloom" that shortens their shelf life. I could use some advice here. Thanks!

Comments (18)

• prmsdlndfrm
    14 years ago

There is a film that covers the eggs applied when laid from within the ovaduct and removing it allows bacteria to pass. Soaking in a bleach solution is highly unrecomended, as the bleach is entering the egg. The best way to clean eggs is blotting with damp sponge, if they are too dirty toss em. Try collecting a couple times aday and make sure the nest boxes are clean.
    josh

• sheryl_ontario
    14 years ago

Everyone who sells their eggs, washes them first. I believe it is the law to dip them in a mild bleach solution or use commercial egg wash. Just don't use detergent. Below is a link to a long previous discussion on how to wash eggs.

Here is a link that might be useful: How to wash eggs thread

• prmsdlndfrm
    14 years ago