Return to the Farm Life Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
A living fence

Posted by whiteoakdairy VA (My Page) on
Mon, Dec 8, 08 at 18:31

I love my goats dearly, but unfortunately, they can jump a 4 1/2 foot tall fence, and don't mind the shock of an electric fence as long as they can get through to that juicy looking bush on the other side. I finally found a fence that is almost 6 foot tall and is an electric net, so they can't just slip through it. It is only meant to be a temporary fence, though, and will not last a long time or be a permanent solution.

I was staring out my kitchen window today and noticed a lilac bush that is so dense you can't even see through the many different stems. I am new to gardening, so I need the advice of people who know plants better than I do.

Would it be possible to grow a fence of lilacs in a few years that would be dense enough that a goat about the size of a very large dog would not be able to get through? If not lilac, are there any other plants that would be thick enough for this purpose?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: A living fence

I'm sure that your goats would think that fence was delicious.

o

Great idea! Lilacs get bare at the bottom as they get taller. You could start with lilacs for the height and then plant something thick and short for the undergrowth.

o

The goats eating the lilac leaves would not be a problem for me. Having a fence that gave me more browse would be a plus. They don't eat the stems, though, which would be the part holding them in.

o

I was thinking more about the goats eating any branch under 3/8ths of an inch and stripping the bark off of any branch/trunk over 1/4 of an inch. Are you sure that goats don't eat lilac stems?

o

They haven't bothered the bark on the one outside my kitchen. Just the leaves they ate. The wild cherries and cedars around are all stripped, though. I will also be rotating pastures enough that hopefully if they decide to nibble the bark it won't be too much of a problem.

o