Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oleladyintheshoe

soaker hose frugality?

oleladyintheshoe
14 years ago

So, I just got my water bill and it went up 100.00!!! Holy Cow! Seeing as I'm not doing well at all with my garden, the one tomato I've produced is hardly worthy of that amount on my bill.

So, I was thinking and it seems to me that soaker hoses would be the way to go. I relaise there is an initial cost involved but I think it would pay off. Thoughts?

FYI- I am a complete beginner to the entire planting of anything and love it trememndously so any tips would be great.

Comments (9)

• okiehobo
    14 years ago

If you dont have much to water, you might want to water each plant indivualy, it would difinitely be cheaper.

Again, it depends on how much you have to water. but if you have quite a bit, the soaker hose would be the way to go.

• trh701
    14 years ago

For me soaker hoses are the only way to go. Saves so much water because the water goes right to the roots - no evaporation as when you use a sprinkler. Also is better for many plants because some of them don't do well with wet leaves. Just make sure you get good soaker hoses (I don't mean expensive - just good). I tried the rubber soaker hoses and after one season found that they crack and get holes, etc. I tried to do the patch-it-up routine and have a small fortune invested in the repair parts. Last year I got a vinyl flat soaker hose (Gilmore brand) for $14.00 at Wal-Mart. LOVE IT! They are guaranteed for life. I am-re-using them in my second year and there are no problems - plus they roll up flat so take up much less room than the rubber ones. Just my opinion!! The other thing that I do to keep the water bill down is to install a timer on the faucet so that I can turn on the soaker hoses for an hour or two and not have to remember to shut it off.

• heather38
    14 years ago