Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
novice_2009

newbie seeks creative input

novice_2009
14 years ago

I'm new to gardening and composting. However I saw some threads and posts where you creative ladies describe turning " trash" into garden art and decorations. Wanting an old cottage garden feel to my garden.....now I could go to local nursery and buy a rusted trellis and such for $50, or ask for your creative tips. I have a lot of ugly things to hide, want to make a privacy fence between my house and busy street.....other than yard sale and trash hunting, where could i find things for this and how could i make them pretty? Any tips, techniques, anything would be appreciated. Any links to garden projects using these methods would be great too. Thanks!!!!!!!!

Comments (10)

• heather38
    14 years ago

Hi, I think you wanted garden junk, they are so brilliant on there.

• eatsivy
    14 years ago

toogreen where are you?

• eatsivy
    14 years ago

Do you have access to willow? I've have used long willow branches to make simple tee-pee trellises. Long branches could be used to build a screen. good luck with which ever way you get creative in your cottage garden

eatsivy

Here is a link that might be useful: living willow structure

• troseph_ut
    14 years ago

I learned how to lash from this site. I saved a ton making my "ghetto-green" trellis from fallen branches.

{{gwi:51326}}

Here is a link that might be useful: How to lash:

• troseph_ut
    14 years ago

Here is that trellis picture.. I guess twitpic doesn't like hotlinking. {{gwi:51328}}

• novice_2009
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Um, thanks. Just trying to make my surroundings and garden more beautiful, without spending a lot. My husband is laid off, and money is tight. I need to block some of the busy street for privacy, and for kids safety. Can't and don't want to go out and buy 10 shrubs, or a trellis, or fence.
    Thanks for the link.

• Carol_from_ny
    14 years ago