Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jackern

Who is the Modern Gardener?

jackern
14 years ago

I'm a newbie urban gardener and I'd like to get a feel for who else keeps gardens nowadays and why. Any comments would be immensly appreciated!

Why did you start a garden (for food, a hobby, aesthetic appeal, etc.)?

How old are you?

Where do you live and what type of environment do you live in(urban, suburban, rural, etc.)?

How long have you been growing fruits, veggies, herbs or flowers?

What is your favorite thing about gardening?

I want to discuss this on my blog, www.diysamurai.wordpress.com. Check it out!

Comments (10)

• kterlep
    14 years ago

I'm 37, I started a garden so I could have a larger variety of foods (we are more adventurous eaters than our neighbors), I wanted to know where it came from, I wanted to save money (yeah, right), and I wanted to be able to preserve food. It's also very fun and I think vegetable plants are beautiful.

I have worked/gone to school in large urban areas but did not have dirt there. I have had gardens in small urban areas and currently live in town in a small city.

I was brought up gardening.

My favorite part of gardening is the day I can put out all of my seedlings (grown by me) - everything is tidy, orderly, there are no weeds, and there is plenty of promise. I also enjoy the last day of the garden, turning my back on the spent plants, carrying the last basket into the house, and being able to see what I've put up for the winter.

:)

• heather38
    14 years ago