Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
atmail

Water from Dehumidfier?

atmail
19 years ago

I don't know if this has been mentioned before, but is there any harm in using the water from the dehumidifier to water house plants/garden? It seems like a waste to dump it down the drain.

Has anyone done this or read anything about it?

Comments (16)

• mudbugtx
    19 years ago

I always use it and haven't seen any problems.

• LorettaF
    19 years ago

I use the condensate from my A/C to water my plants...same concept...never had any problems. Always nice to save water when you have to pay for city water!

• AbbeysDad
    19 years ago

(disclaimer - I'm not an expert)

I think that water from your dehumidifier should be perfectly fine to use - it's condensed from the atmosphere much like rain is.
    Actually, this water may be better for your plants, especially if your water is treated (e.g. chlorine) or hard.
    There's one caution I might consider. Often, dehumidifiers are in basements and other places with moisture problems. If so and the area has a mold/mildew problem, it's possible that the standing water may contain spores. Although this may not be the case, or cause any problems, you should watch your plants for signs of trouble.
    When in doubt, experiment. Select a few of your plants (the rest is the control group) to receive the condensed water. Monitor these plants in relation to the others. you may realize you've discovered 'wonder water'...or not !

• gasman111
    19 years ago

Man,you guys are cheap!!!

• mudbugtx
    19 years ago

Gasman111-I'm not sure if your're serious or joking? Considering the planet is covered 2/3 by water but only 1% is potable, conservation of it is in everyone's best interests.

• Turtle_Haven_Farm
    19 years ago

I save a couple of gallons of dehumidifer water a year to use in my steam iron... no hard minerals!!!-Ellen

• atmail
    Original Author
    19 years ago