Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lakewaylady

Plant ID Markers

lakewaylady
14 years ago

Love this forum...I am a newbie here and I live in northern NH.

I have read many suggestions for plant markers, but think this might be a new one. I was cleaning out my old silverware this morning and came up with this idea. I took one of my knives (it had a round acrylic handle) took an indelible marker and printed the name of my perenial on the handle and stuck it in the earth. Seems like any flat handle piece would work and for the creative ones you could decoupage a small picture on the working end of a spoon. Hmmm maybe you could stick a fork in the ground with tines up and slip in some sort of id in the tines....maybe a small pc. of plastic from an old milk jug???Old silverware can be found for pennies in yard sales. You could then change the ids as needed. Hope this helps someone.

Comments (14)

• bookwizards

Mini blinds do not last here in Texas. Sharpie marker lasts a few weeks of full sun. I have used the white plastic knives and write on them with an Elmers medium tip black paint pen some of the ones 3 years old are brittle. I would take ours home when we ate out or they are inexpensive. Scrub with scotchbrite and Dawn and use the paint pen they are low and easy to read.

Now I have switched to stakes made from discarded cedar fence boards and i an using roof flashing about $2 for an 8 ft 1 X 2 inch piece each stick makes 24 marker tops. I cut them with a metal cutting blade for my circular saw and then grind down the pointy tips. I am diping them in rustoleum paint and then writing on them with the paint pen. Hopefully these will last many years. I am considering soaking them in wood preserver. I drill 2 holes in the one inch side and use galvanized nails to attach them to the stake. total cost about 10 cents per marker.