Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elainew_gw

Granite bench idea?

ElaineW
18 years ago

This is my first time on this forum. But from what I have read there are a lot of creative thinkers on here. I hope someone can give me an idea of how to turn a 1 1/4 inch thick slab of granite into a garden bench. It's 13 x 29. Not very big but a really nice piece of stone.

I got it from a granite company waste pile. It seems like a wonderful resource for cool garden things. I couldn't pass up the opportunity take some pieces for stepping stones and little table tops, etc. The bench has to be stable and I'm not sure how I can pull this off.

Thanks for any suggestions for the bench- or other hunks of granite.

Comments (8)

• socks
    18 years ago

I hope you get some ideas for that granite here. My friend and I were looking at granite slabs and happened to have a glance into their trash dumpster which had lots of nice pieces we would have liked to have.

My only thought is that the scraps probably would not make good stepping stones as they would be too slippery.

• ElaineW
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks socks. I thought that too. I have a fake little "pond" that I made out of a black and blue granite tile from my kitchen. It's cute. It has a little ceramic frog sitting on it. (No real water feature yet...)
    Every once in a while I step on it so I don't squash the plants around it as I weed. I will use them sparingly as stepping stones- not in a path- and make sure that they don't stay sparkling clean. I'll let the mulch scatter on them and plants creep up and then there will be something beside the stone to step on.

• sylviatexas1
    18 years ago

You need something heavy enough to support the weight & to keep the bench stable.

I'm thinking cinderblocks.

Maybe check on the Garden Junk Forum to see how you can stain/paint/whatever so they don't look like cinderblocks.

Have fun!

• vetivert8
    18 years ago