Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jessi323

What can I do with all of these empty laundry detergent bottles?

jessi323
15 years ago

Is there something useful I can do with these plastic Arm & Hammer detergent bottles? I was saving them all for a trip to the recycling center but I was wondering if I could do something else with them. I thought about cutting the top part off and using them as pots over the winter when I try to start annuals? I am very new to gardening, so please be kind.

Any good ideas/suggestions are greatly appreciated. You guys are so creative. :)

Comments (16)

• cynthia_h
    15 years ago

You might like this site, which I just found through an Internet search. I read a book called (I think) "1001 Tips for Gardeners," and remembered that milk jugs--which are shaped somewhat like detergent containers--can be used for cloches on seedlings, to retain heat in questionable early spring/late fall weather.

But there are MANY MORE ideas at this new site. My search criterion was simply "milk jugs" + cloche, so there are bound to be zillions of uses that I didn't find!

in el cerrito

Here is a link that might be useful: 35+ Uses for Plastic Milk Jugs

• cynthia_h
    15 years ago

"1,001 Ingenious Gardening Ideas: New, Fun and Fabulous That Will Change the Way You Garden - Forever!" by Deborah Martin (Rodale Garden Books, 1999) is the book where I saw the mention of milk-jug cloches. The book is an absolute GOLD MINE of frugal tips; I checked it out from my local library and am very glad I did.

in el cerrito

• jessi323
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Cynthia thank you so much for posting the link. I knew there had to be something I could do with them. :)

• karen_b
    15 years ago