Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pseudacris_crucifer

Best seed for trading

I just started trading seeds this fall and it has been a lot of fun. The postage makes it more expensive than say collecting your own or buying year-old seeds on clearance for $0.10. And the quality of the seed and generosity of the traders is all over the map, but averages good quality and very generous.

I have many different seeds available for trade, both flowers and veggies, but I seem to get more requests for my heirloom Black Krim tomato seeds. In fact, it has been largely Black Krim seeds that I have been trading for all the other seeds for next year's garden.

This got my inner frugal zealot thinking: Are there certain other seeds that I could grow out and leverage for even more seeds in future years. So I ask the community:

Are there certain seeds that you have noticed are in higher demand within the trading community? Or does it vary year to year depending on latest fads?

Comments (8)

• spiced_ham
    15 years ago

At least on the heirloom tomato forums, each year there seems to be a few fad tomatoes, generally new "designer" varieties that somebody hypes out of proportion to quality.

I'm surprised by your results. Black Krim is possibly my favorite variety, but it has been around and people don't seem to get as excited about it on the forums as they do Cherokee Purple (which has a cool name and gets a lot of press) or whatever this year's fad black is (Paul Robeson, JDs Special C Tex, Brad's Black Heart etc). Brandywine Sudduth Strain (pink potatoleaf) is probably king of the heirloom tomatoes in name, unfortunately it is an inconsistent producer and there are alot of different tomatoes with the name Brandywine attached to them so I don't know how well it trades.