Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenflory

growing a date tree?

jflo
19 years ago

I was reading about growing things from the grocery store and got inspired when i noticed some dates in the back of my fridge i got at the farmer's market a few weeks back. Does anyone know how i could start one of the seeds? i'm a newbie w/o much experience with seeds, although i'm okay at propagating easy things. i've got some garlic (although i think i'll have to settle for the leaves in this climate)

i understand the plant probably won't fruit (from what i've gathered need male and female plants) but i thought it would be cool to try to grow a little palm from a seed. i do everything in containers anyway (apt dweller) so i don't need to worry about things getting out of control ever.

Comments (23)

• pensacolarobin
    19 years ago

I have done this with Medjool dates I bought at the grocery store and if I can do it anyone can.Soak the seeds in water for 24-48 hours. Drain and wrap seeds in a damp paper towel. Put in a ziplock bag in a warm place till sprouts appear. Plant in pots just below the surface, water lightly, and keep warm. I have five growing in my backyard.

• jflo
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thanks so much - that is exactly what I was hoping to hear. I'm a bit concerned about the ziplock - newbie here. Don't they need air? About how long does it take for sprouts to appear?

• pensacolarobin
    19 years ago

If I remember correctly, I kept the bag closed with the seeds wrapped up in a barely dampened paper towel and the roots appeared in a week or two.The roots pop out of white bumps that form. Once the roots are out I planted them in a really good potting soil just under the surface.Keep moist but don't overwater.

• jflo
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Cool - i had managed to find info on ziploc germination, but then was wondering how far down to plant a date seed since they're kind of big. So thanks for the answer and i'm crossing my fingers.