Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thecityman

Paw Paw pollination

Though I am new to fruit growing, over the last 2-3 years I've planted most of the standard fruits. I now want to add some slightly more "exotic" trees- persimmons and pawpaws. I've decided to order from plantmegreen.com because they have better prices, rooted plants, and good reviews on the big nursery review site. If you have any comments about them I'd love to hear.
. #1) I am about to order one Hachiya and one Saijo (I prefer soft astringents). My understanding is that they are both self-pollinating and will grow well side by side. Is this true? Anything else you'd tell someone considering these varieties?
#2) My bigger question is about Pawpaws. The aforementioned seller says that 2 trees are needed for pollination, but they only seem to sell one kind of pawpaw. I know that with fruits like apples, you need 2 different kinds of trees for cross pollination. Will 2 pawpaws of the same variety pollinate each other? Also, do I have to worry about getting a male and female? Finally, this seller does not say what kind of pawpaw it is that they sell. Is there a huge difference between varieties? Any other pawpaw info for a beginner would be appreciated. Thanks.

Comments (20)

• Bradybb WA-Zone8
    10 years ago

Good plants.I know more about Pawpaws than Persimmons,so I'll give a little information about them.