Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
angelanels

new to this and want to plant fruit!

angelanels
10 years ago

Hi--I am fairly new to growing fruit (except berries, which seem very easy here), we bought a house last year, and my yard is pretty much a blank slate. Plenty of Sun exposure--cold winters and dry summers--soil is just ok

I would like to grow 2-4 Apple trees, 1-2 plums, maybe a cherry? I would like to know the best, and best tasting varieties for a beginner. My daughter wants to grow honeycrisp, but from what I am reading, they sound too difficult? I don't want fussy or difficult, but I do like the sweet-tart taste and hate mealy or bland apples. I'm wondering about the stark disease free special (one each of enterprise, jonafree and gold rush) but can't find much about the taste of enterprise or jonafree, or whether gold rush would do well in our dry summer.

I had some plums from a neighbor once that I bet, from reading descriptions, were green gage--they were amazing. They had grown wild on her vacant lot since forever and she didn't know what kind--rather ugly dull green, but soooooo good. I would love to grow those, but they also sound difficult . . .

Anyway I don't have a lot of money nor a lot of ground, so I am trying to get this right! At our old house I planted a few fruit trees and let's just say it was not a rousing success.

Thank you for any help!

Comments (9)

• fruitmaven_wiz5
    10 years ago

Since you're in WA, check out Raintree nursery. They have a large selection, and since they're in your area they'll know what diseases to watch out for. I'm in WI, so my climate and diseases are rather different. Local advice is invaluable, and so are local farmers markets. It's VERY important to try the fruit you're considering before planting anything. Even if it has a great description, it might just not be for you. You might need to wait to plant until next year, so you can try things this summer.