Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
norman2012_gw

sand plums or american or both, soil type

norman2012
12 years ago

I am ordering some pecan trees from the forestry dept soon for an orchard (to graft late).

While I am at it I am planning on ordering some plums and mulberries. All these are bare root seedlings and come in bags of 50.

I am new to all of this and still learning.

My question is should I order American plums or Sand Plums?

I am planting a pecan orchard in a couple months (Oklahoma 7a)

according to http://www.okatlas.org/okatlas/terrain/mollisols.html

and

http://www.ogs.ou.edu/pubsscanned/EP9p16_19soil_veg_cl.pdf

and

http://soildatamart.nrcs.usda.gov/manuscripts/OK091/0/McIntosh.pdf

the soil is moderately acidic loamy and udolls suborder of the mollisols order

I have 40 acres, most of which have been used for grass (hay) in the past several decades. There are about a hundred native and Stuart pecans about the same age.

I am planning on building sort of a food forest on the land I'm not farming.

thanks for all the help

Comments (12)

• norman2012
    Original Author
    12 years ago

sorry, I can't figure out how to edit posts. I just realized there was a native plants forum this probably should have gone in

• jolj
    12 years ago

What are Sand plums?

• jolj
    12 years ago

Wild plums.

• john_in_sc
    12 years ago

I would do some research before you plant out either.. If you don't tend to them - they become brown rot and plum curc magnets - which will then cause problems with nearby orchards and such...

If you do plan to spray - then either will be good... Both make fine jelly and food for wildlife.

Thanks

• fabaceae_native
    12 years ago