Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
milehighgirl_gw

Blackberries and dormancy question

milehighgirl
10 years ago

This is my first year with blackberries. When the weather changed I was in a rush and decided to wind them up on the ground and then I put a trash bag full of leaves on top of each. This was supposed to be a temporary fix.

I checked on them a couple of days ago and the leaves are still green underneath. I figured that the bag of leaves would protect similarly to a pile of leaves but this is not the case.

So, now that my blackberries are not even fully dormant I'm wondering about chill hours and the like. I'm completely new to blackberries. I believe I have Siskiyou, Triple Crown, thornless Boysenberry, and a couple of others that I can't think of at the moment.

Any thoughts?

Comments (24)

• lsoh
    10 years ago

milehighgirl,

I planted triple crown blackberries in pots in 2012. Drug them into an unheated workshop for the winter of 2012-2013. The leaves never turned brown. They were healthy and fruited well in 2013.

I am in zone 5A. Blackberries are iffy in my zone. In addition to those triple crowns, I am overwintering one year thorny boysenberries in pots indoors. I have Siskiyou on order. I'd like to plant them in the ground and cover for the winter in a manor similar to your approach. But I'm concerned that the my winters are too cold. Your results would be very helpful. Please let us know how they do.

Thanks.

• milehighgirl
    Original Author
    10 years ago

lsoh,

I think it's sort of a windfall for me. We have had temps in -20's so far this winter and I was shocked and overjoyed when I saw how they were doing. I thought my blackberry experiment might be a waste but this give real hope!!!! And it was so easy and free, save the cost of a large trash bag!

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    10 years ago