Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
itheweatherman

Nadia Cherry Plum

itheweatherman
9 years ago

Great news Everyone,

Raintree nursery is releasing Nadia Cherry Plum, a 50/50 plum x cherry hybrid.

You could find it at "New for 2015" section. I already placed my order.

Here is an interesting article about Nadia:
UNIVEG Katop� UK & AIGN agree deal for new Cherry Plum

http://www.freshplaza.com/article/107221/UNIVEG-Katop%E9-UK-and-AIGN-agree-deal-for-new-Cherry-Plum

Comments (65)

• Tony
    9 years ago

TWM,

The Zaiger plumxcherryxapricot looks real nice. I would love to have one for my hybrids collection.

Tony

• northwoodswis4
    9 years ago

Konrad,
    What does the Manor taste like? Does it have any cherry flavor? To tell the truth, I have been growing many varieties of plums and cherries for several years, but they have mostly been a failure--sizable trees, but practically no fruit. Our soil is mostly sand, so I guess I will up the fertilizer this year. Northwoodswis

• itheweatherman
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Tony, that hybrid is actually a peach x apricot x plum x cherry hybrid, according to Los Angeles Times Article.

Here is a pic of the plum x cherry x apricot hybrid that I saw on Bareroot fruit trees post:

https://picasaweb.google.com/111279274345519416431/ZaigersWeeklyFruitTasting2013?authkey=Gv1sRgCPvpnaqCpMngtQE#5899132010066703330

• Tony
    9 years ago

That's a tasty looking fruit!!!

Tony

• alcedo 4/5 W Europe
    9 years ago

I own a little comparative copy of a hybrid Myrobolan cherry, wt a very sweet pleasant taste.

{{gwi:2118795}}

{{gwi:2118796}}

{{gwi:2118797}}

• itheweatherman
    Original Author
    9 years ago

alcedo,
    What's its parentage? Myrobalan plum x what?

• Konrad___far_north
    9 years ago

Northwoodswis
    They need to be fully ripe for flavor, they definitely can have more, taste like a plum but,..a healthy fruit and perfect for processing. I froze some whole in the freezer.

Manor on the left