Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tlbean2004

How long will it take for pear tree cuttings to root?

tlbean2004
9 years ago

I just planted several pear tree cuttings. I removed all the flower buds also.

How long will it take for the cuttings to root?
They are about as thick as a pencil and i keep my house at 70 degrees...

Please advise.

Comments (26)

• MichiganBMosh
    9 years ago

I am by no means an expert, and have never done it myself. But I have done some reading on this as I was going to root some from a friends tree. From what I learned on the web and in books; some varieties can be difficult to root and that grafting to root stock is a better option. However, if my memory serves me correctly after 4-6 weeks you should have some roots and be able to transplant to individual pots for those that do root. What grow media did you use? I would like to see some updates on your progress with this, maybe that will sway me to follow suit or try grafting. Best of luck!

• tlbean2004
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I used potting mix with a little perlite added. I also stuck the cuttings in rooting hormone.

• alcan_nw
    9 years ago

I wanted a certain apple on it's own root much the same. Being that I knew apples are less likely to root than pears I'm going forward with it anyways. The method I'm using is bigger cuttings. My reasons are aimed through a patent claim which can be found through google searching of a term using all these words with the quotes intact;
    "At its larger end, the slip" "for best results, the slip"

• Tony
    9 years ago

Tlbean,

You may find the attached link below to be useful. I think this method may work on pear or apple. Good luck.

Tony

Here is a link that might be useful: Stone fruit rooting

• Konrad___far_north
    9 years ago

>>How long will it take for pear tree cuttings to root?My guess,..never,..unless you have HUGE luck.

• TurCre
    9 years ago