Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
malaec

Please recommend fruit trees for NJ zone6!

malaec
15 years ago

Hello fellow gardeners,

I finally got unlimited growing space - we purchased this wonderful 10 acres, with lots of full sun and good well-draining soil! A dream come true!

But now I need your expert advice...

I have lots of experience growing various kinds of flowers, I also have some currants and gooseberries, but I don't know anything about fruit trees.

Please share your recommendations for somewhat easy fruit trees for zone 6, New Jersey. I am looking for apples, peaches, pears, asian pears, cherries, plums, may be apricots... Even nuts... Basically, whatever grows, fruits and tastes good. I hope for a decent flavor, relative ease of cultivation and disease-resistance. Nice if it stores well, although not necessary, since I like canning...

I am sure you know what to buy, and where. Please share your favorites!

Looking forward to your advice!

Thanks,

Janna

Comments (16)

• theaceofspades
    15 years ago

janna, I don't have to spray Asian pears at all and they are addicting. Also plant some Crimson Passion and Carmine Jewel bush cherries. These ripen mid summer well after the tree cherries are gone. No spray and easy to net. Blueberries are long lived and easy to grow too. Apples, Peaches and Plums require lots of spraying and/or bagging. Good luck

• alan haigh
    15 years ago

Apples, peaches, apricots, plums may require as little as 3 sprays if you use over the counter stuff. Check thread about apple spray blues. Jap plums are easiest of plums for brown rot problems. Much discussion on varieties in recent thread. It had Green Gage in its title.

Early peaches are easier for brown rot (Red Haven and earlier). Peaches grown in lawn areas just may not need spray to produce well where you are. Harcrest and Elberta are 2 late peaches that are resistant to BR.