Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hollyrose08

Looking for currant plants/seeds.

hollyrose08
10 years ago

This is my first time posting on this site so I'm not really sure how it works. My boyfriend and I have been looking into re-landscaping our yard, and decided we wanted to use bushes or shrubs that not only were aesthetically pleasing, but also served another purpose. We decided on White, Red, and Black Currants, but we are unsure where to find seeds or already growing plants in the area. We are located in Saginaw County, Michigan. If anyone could help us out in finding currant plants that would be great!

Thanks, Holly

Comments (19)

• drew51 SE MI Z5b/6a
    10 years ago

Currants are rather unruly bushes, not very defined like most ornamental bushes. Propagation is almost entirely by cuttings. I don't think I have ever seen seeds for sale?
    You can buy plants online Google Nourse Farms, Raintree Nursery, and One Green World to start. Remember only to plant blank currants that are white pine rust resistant, it's illegal to do otherwise in Michigan.

• mrsg47
    10 years ago

Drew, I have quite a few black currants, red, white and pink. They are not unruly and like any other small shrub they can be pruned, as are mine. Actually my black currants are beginning to form a very nice, small hedge. Nourse Farms is one of the best 'berry' farms to purchase currants. Nurseries selling currants will automatically (not ship to given designations of a specific plant and host disease area/state). Do you grow currants, Drew?

Currants to not have pretty leaves that change color in the fall, however, they do stay green for a very long time then turn brown and fall off. What is good about currants is that you will begin your first small harvest in about two years or a year and a half after planting. In order to do anything with your currants you need at least four bushes of black currants, and more of the 'red, white and pink' as they are smaller in size. Mrs. G