Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Blackberries: did I do this right?

Posted by newoldhouser 10 (My Page) on
Mon, Feb 3, 14 at 0:35

First let me say, I am VERY new to gardening, but anxious to learn! I finally got my wire trellis built and tied up my berry plants. I have several thorny bushes that were transplanted from south Louisiana. I have no clue as to the variety. And I have several thornless plants. I think some May be Natchez. Unfortunately, I didn't pay to much attention when I bought them. This will be their second growing season so I'm expecting to get a lot of berries. Did I tie them up right? Should I prune them back more? Would love any advice you have! Thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Blackberries: did I do this right?

More pictures

o

Thorny bushes. These were transplanted last year. I thought they were dead but flourished and bore huge berries. I'm excited to see what they do this year! Should they be thinned out?

o

Thorny up close

o

Thornless plants

o

I got a blackberry bush last summer also. Grew tall andhad some big berries first year. Did not think you had to tie them up? Thot they were like raspberries. I can understand why though. The plant is hangin all over! Interested in an answer

o

I think the point in training them to the trellis is to control how they grow and to make berry picking easier. Also the canes are not strong enough to support all the fruit it makes. I had some canes last year just laying in the grass and the fruit ruined. Those things grow like crazy, I had to pull some canes out of the ground because they had rooted and shot up more plants 4-5 feet away in my grass.

o