Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thecityman

Fruit Tree Sprayer Needs?

I've outgrown my 2 gallon pump-up sprayer and need help selecting a "real" sprayer. I know there are other forums for tools/equipment, but because I will be using my new sprayer exclusively on fruit trees I believe you all are far more qualified to determine my needs. If you can't recommend a specific brand and model, I at least hope you will define some general parameters such as Gal per min, size of tank, motor, psi, method of power (12 volt, PTO, etc). Any info would be appreciated because I am very new to this and just don't have a clue what I might need. Here is some info to help you:

I will have about 50 semi-dwarf fruit trees- including most standard types of fruits.
I own both a John Deer riding lawnmower and a compact (ie quite small) Ford New Holland Tractor with a PTO drive an can use either one in conjunction with my new sprayer.
My orchard is level and just a few feet from my house and hose. My trees are about 16-18 feet apart so I can get between them with mower or tractor.
I would prefer some kind of pull-behind (I think?) rather than having my pump attached to tractor/mower.
I want to get by as cheap as I reasonably can.
I must confess that I'm just not very mechanically inclined, so I need something that doesn't need to be modified or have any kind of homemade mounting set-up, etc. I'd prefer to just buy something that is basically ready to go.

Even information as basic as how many gallon tank I'd need for 50 trees would be a huge help. Thanks!

Comments (14)

• galagala
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago