Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
microbiomom

Weighing down pear tree branches or pegging

microbiomom
14 years ago

Hey

I am new to pear and apple tree culture. I just planted two Asian pears and read that a better, stronger tree will result from weighing down or pegging branches that tend to grow more vertically in a young tree. Which is better? What do I use to weigh the branches down and how much weight? Do I go to horizontal or nearly horizontal? I guess what angle?

Do I need to do anything like this to the apple trees (Anna and Dorsett) that have four branches and look pretty open?

Thanks for advice. I hope this doesn't sound too stupid.

cd

Comments (64)

• eric_wa
    14 years ago

murky,

Thank you. I wish it was a little more in focus. I'll try again in September.

Eric

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    14 years ago

I think most everyone here already knows this, but just in case someone unfamiliar with the subject is reviewing this thread, the crotch angle is the angle between the branch and trunk at the point of attachment, not the angle formed by the overall branch and trunk. Wide crotch angles are necessary for stronger branch attachment.
    -----------------------
    As much as it will bother Harvestman (too late to change your mind now buddy), I will have to agree with him about Treefrom (note two ee's) metal branch spreaders. I use that brand exclusively and have had very good results.

Here is a link that might be useful: Treeform

• eric_wa
    14 years ago

brandon7,

Maybe,Yes and Yes. Never used "Treeform" spreaders, but I like.

I've see this flaming in other post, what up between you two??

Eric

• brandon7 TN_zone7
    14 years ago

LOL. We both take the discussions too seriously, I guess. And, Harvestman loves to be the antagonist. I guess it's his way of saying, "consider this". We agree (probably) far more often than we disagree, actually. But the discussion is not as lively when everyone agrees. (-;

• eric_wa
    14 years ago

brandon7,