Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dhi1971

Black currant (ribes alpinum)

dhi1971
14 years ago

Hi:

I have a healthy black currant bush (Ribes alpinum) that I planted early last fall and am looking forward too seeing come to life this spring. I have a couple of questions (and I apologize if they're basic but I am an amateur!). THe shrub is about 3 1/2 tall and very bushy.

To get a good crop of berries, do I need to get another bush for pollination purposes? If not, when can I expect them to come out?

Pruning: I need to do this, but I'm afraid of trimming "too much." For best results, should I thin out the middle and cut back 1/3 or so of the branches? Or is this the kind of fruit shrub that I can just let grow "wild?"

Thanks!

Comments (15)

• ericwi
    14 years ago

We have a red currant. Its been growing in our front yard for 15 years now. This shrub is the first plant in the yard to flower in the spring. The flowers are mostly green, and not conspicuous. Nonetheless, the bees find them, and we get about a quart of fruit off this shrub every year. To my knowledge there are no other currants in the neighborhood, so I guess a lone currant shrub will do OK with regard to pollination and fruiting. I don't think you can harm the plant by pruning it in late winter.

• olga_6b
    14 years ago

Black Currant doesn't need another plant for crosspolination.
    You can have berries this year. As for pruning, it is up to you. You can prune it lightly or leave it like is, it will be fine. Young currants don't have to be pruned, unless there is some reason, related to space, etc.
    Olga

• chills71
    14 years ago

Ribes Alpinum is not the plant most people here recognize as black currant (that would be ribes nigrum), this species the poster is asking about is called alpine currant. The fruit is not favorably described on Plants for a Future, though is is described as being like a red currant, but not as sweet in one source.