Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mms_727

How long until seeds become plants?

mms_727
15 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am VERY new to gardening and have a couple quick questions...

I decided to plant some seeds (blueberry, groundcherry, blackberry, dwarf pink banana) in a peat moss/vermiculite/perlite mix (I mixed them). It's been 3 weeks- when will I see plants come up? I used the paper towel method to start the ground cherry seeds a week later. It's been two weeks and 4 days ago I planted them with little roots.

Am I doing something wrong? More patience? They are growing inside, in a makeshift greenhouse (shower curtain closed up/vaporizer to keep humidity) with a full spectrum grow light.

Any help/suggestions would be great. I should probably have gotten cuttings/plants, but those get really expensive (I'm a graduate student). I did get two plants- a miracle fruit plant which probably wasn't the greatest choice for 1st plant, but it sounded really neat- and a rose, but...not sure what happened to the rose- it went down quick. :( I think it wasn't enough light that's why I have the grow light now. Miracle fruit's leaves are greener now except several leaves are turning red.

Megan

Comments (6)

• fruitgirl
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Blueberry seeds require a period of cold stratification in order to germinate. Blackberry seeds are even harder to germinate...some breeders use a period of warm followed by cold (or is it the other way around?) and some use acid scarification. I don't know anything about the other two species.

However, even if you were to get your blueberry seeds to germinate, it will be YEARS before you'd get any fruit from them...I'd say five at the absolute minimum. The blackberries you'd get a small crop the year after the first canes grow.

Also, it sounds as if you're trying to grow and fruit these inside. Fruit crops really aren't suited for indoor cultivation.

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    15 years ago

Megan: