Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
neighborhoodfarmer

Help me prune my apple and peach trees!

neighborhoodfarmer
10 years ago

Hi,
I'm fairly new to fruit trees. We planted our peach a couple years ago but have done absolutely nothing to it. We planted our first apple last Spring and the second one we just planted in November. We haven't done anything to these two either. The picture here is the one we planted in the spring and I'm not sure if this is a central leader style or what? Any help would be much appreciated! I'll post pictures of the other two trees in question as well. Thanks!

Comments (9)

• neighborhoodfarmer
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Here is our dwarf peachtree that has never been pruned, I'm struggling to know where to start on this.

• neighborhoodfarmer
    Original Author
    10 years ago

And here's the apple tree we planted last nov. It doesn't appear to need any pruning yet except for maybe the tips. My question is what style is this? Open vase or central leader? Thanks!

• olpea
    10 years ago

Farmer,

I'll offer a few general comments with regard to the peach.

Most people don't prune their peach trees at all, or wait too long and then want to correct.

After this it can be pretty tough sometimes, though not always impossible, to bring it back to the shape or size desired. Perhaps an analogy would be building a house. If the foundation received little attention, it's difficult to rectify a problem, if the rest of the house is already on top.

The good news is your tree is still small enough you can train it any way you like.

If it were my tree, I'd select three scaffolds, going in different directions and cut everything else off. Ideal scaffolds point more horizontal than vertical, are spaced uniformly around the trunk, and are separated by about 4" vertically on the trunk.

This is going to get a bit complicated, but I'll try to give you some specific advice about your peach tree.