Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ryan89_gw

Help pruning peach tree

ryan89
10 years ago

I purchased a halehaven semi-dwarf peach tree last spring and planted it. I'm new to peach trees and need help pruning. I purchased the tree from homedepot. I have attached a photo. I am in zone 6b Plymouth massachusetts. Any help would be appreciated The tree tag said the tree was 2-3 years old

Comments (15)

• ryan89
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I would like to prune to an open center

• clarkinks
    10 years ago

Here is a good video

Here is a link that might be useful: Open center Pruning

This post was edited by ClarkinKS on Sun, Feb 2, 14 at 21:33

• Bradybb WA-Zone8
    10 years ago

There looks to be a couple of different ways that I'd do it and depends on the spacing of the present branches.Because the photo is only from one side and view,it's a little difficult.What may be helpful is a shot from directly above the plant,but don't go to any extremes.
    From what is seen,I'd take off that lowest single branch if close to the ground.
    Then work with what's left,the two scaffolds.Three or four branches are needed to be left and should be several inches apart,running the length of the trunk and pointing in different directions from each other as much as possible.Then trim the ends of these by about a third,to an outward facing bud.Also try to pick the saved branches with crotch angles that are not too tight.Cut the top of the tree off just above the highest branch saved. Brady

This post was edited by Bradybb on Sun, Feb 2, 14 at 23:35

• ryan89
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Got more photos

• ryan89
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Another

• ryan89
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The last picture has a pear tree in the background. Had a pine tree fall on it during a storm and ripped it in half but there's 3 pictures of the peach tree

• Bradybb WA-Zone8
    10 years ago

Also,don't forget to spray for Peach Leaf Curl. Brady

• rayrose