Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Silver Tips Too Soon?

Posted by WrittenOnWater N. VA 7a (My Page) on
Mon, Feb 10, 14 at 15:44

I apologize if the answer is obvious, but I'm rather new at this. I have two 1.5-year old apple trees, a Granny Smith and a Golden Delicious. The Golden Delicious continues to remain dormant.

However, I first noticed about a month ago that the Granny Smith is entering the silvery tip phase (losing its hard wood-like exterior on the buds and becoming gray/fuzzy). I just checked last weekend again and it's getting bigger and more fuzzy - there's almost no wood-like exterior left.

Given that the weather is still in the 20s-30s, is this happening too soon? If so, is there something I can do to slow the process down? I'm also not sure why the Granny Smith is growing while the Golden Delicious remains dormant.

Thank you!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Silver Tips Too Soon?

Fruiting buds develop over winter and different varieties develop differently. This is all you are seeing -- its not really silver tip. I have some pears that look ready to bloom out compared to the trees next to them.

Scott

o

That was fast! Thank you!

And thank you also for the poms - I've been trying to care for them according to the instructions I've read but am very curious if they've taken. Is it usually about a month before they start rooting?

o

Ah I didn't realize who you were. Its funny that the pear observations I referred to above I had made during your visit.

For the poms you usually see baby roots in a couple weeks. I usually root in some way I can inspect the roots, either wrapped in wet paper towel or in sand.

Scott

o

Ah, I must've forgotten in the midst of all the information I learned!

Good to know for next time. One of the grape cuttings is actually breaking dormancy already. It's got the beginnings of a fuzzy gray tip!

o

You didn't miss it, it was just something I noticed while showing you some pear buds.