Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
which blueberry shrub to choose?

Posted by preppyjock (My Page) on
Fri, Feb 22, 13 at 15:46

i went to a local Lowe's store, they are selling a few varieties of blueberry shrubs.

i don't know which one to choose. they are produced by this site.

http://duartefruittrees.com/?page_id=40

i want one that is easy to grow and produce lots of blueberries. ;)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: which blueberry shrub to choose?

It would help to know what state you live in.

o

PJ-
8-20lbs depending on age/variety/care

o

i am here in southern california.

o

Well in your area and zone I have no experience but don't see why you could not grow southern highbush. You can't beat Emerald for sheer volume of berries produced. For taste I love sweetcrisp. Windsor is also a good one as well as Jewel.

o

preppyjock,
From what i know,I'd pick O'neal and Legacy from your provided list.I have Misty,which is sweet,but can be too overbearing and may need some flower bud pruning at some point,but that's okay.Legacy is excellent.I want to get an O'neal,because I read they are good tasting and bear early. Brady

o

I was looking a little closer at some of the descriptions of the Blueberry varieties listed on the duartefruittrees page and it lists some of the Southern Highbush chill hour requirements at 800 -1000.I don't think so.One of the main reasons Southern Highbush were made is to have low chill hours for Southern growers.
I checked for the variety Rebel which duarte lists as needing 800-1000 chill hours.The patent information has it as 400-450,which is more like it.
Preppyjock,it may benefit to check the average chill hours in your area for a Winter,that is between 32F and 45F and pick the plants need that many or less.Weather Underground is a place to check and tally up chill hours. Brady

And don't use that stupid chill hour info from duarte.

o Post a Follow-Up