Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vdhant

First time apple tree pruner

vdhant
9 years ago

Hi guys

I'm new to pruning apple trees and am in the process of trying to get 2 apples trees at my new house into shape. I've watched a ton of videos on pruning apple trees and believe I have gotten rid of must of the branches growing; down, back into the tree, crossing over other branches, etc.

I'm at the point where I'm not sure how to deal with the branches growing straight up, as in how many I should keep, what height I should cut them off at, what to do with the higher child branches coming off these upright shoots, etc.

Any advise would greatly appreciated!!!

Cheers
Anthony

Here is a link that might be useful: Video of tree

Comments (11)

• fireduck
    9 years ago

that is a bit unusual to have so many vertical limbs on that small of a tree. I would cut all but five verticals back all the way. The five you save...head them back at the ends...to produce horizontal secondary branching.

• curtis
    9 years ago

the trees had been growing quite nicely in the first few years then someone brutally chopped off all the good "scaffold" branches and the result is you have all of these shoots headed for the sky.

problem for you now is if you cut too much in one year you get more of this desperate growth. So it will take a long time to fix this... although it may be a candidate for what is known as the tall spindly method of growth. I don't know aytihng about that, but others will be along who do

• alan haigh
    9 years ago

I wouldn't cut anything back for now, I don't think. Better to just thin those uprights to just a few of the least vigorous ones so you can begin getting fruit and calm the tree down, although if you manage the hydra affect you can also go the other way- but it will wind up taking much longer to get the tree into productivity again.