Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thedarkness_gw

how do apple seeds sprout?

thedarkness
11 years ago

i put some seeds in water for about a week, one really took off and a few started. i put the one that was doing really well in a soup can with holes for drainage, then near a uv light by a sunny window 1/2 of the day. i put dirt on it lightly, about 4 inches under it. everytime i look at it, the seed is exposed, is this from the water washing away the dirt, or is it like beans where the seed goes up then leaves and more growth come out? i have never tried growing trees from seeds before, so any help is appreciated

Comments (14)

• eric580
    11 years ago

The seed should not be exposed. All my apple trees sprouted from seeds in the dirt. Maybe you should try a different pot? Maybe a plastic cup or a flowerpot?Here is a photo of my apple seedlings about a month ago. The seed stays covered and eventually, a green stem will appear with a seed case on it. You can peel this off carefully or leave it on to break open. Two little leaves will unfold after a few days then real leaves will develop. Hope this helps:) Also apples need to be cross pollinated by another apple tree to produce fruit. Even crabapple trees work. Good luck on your endeavour thedarkness!

• thedarkness
    Original Author
    11 years ago

thanks for the pic! its got about an inch long sprout, should i point that upwards and not bury it? right now i have the sprout on the side, and noticed some tiny hairs on seedcase, is that mould or normal? i will post pic of my set up for it in a few minutes

• thedarkness
    Original Author
    11 years ago

http://imageshack.us/a/img29/7462/img42851.jpg
    http://imageshack.us/a/img203/1368/img42841y.jpg
    http://imageshack.us/a/img853/427/img42831.jpg
    http://imageshack.us/a/img255/5411/img42871.jpg

the second one is the seed with little hairs growing on it.
    and that is a bearded dragon tail in the 3rd if anyone was wondering