Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
To spray or not to spray

Posted by ryan89 6b massachusetts (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 2, 14 at 20:54

I planted a halehaven semi dwarf peach tree last spring. If i were to spray for pests and diseases what should i use? And when should it be sprayed. I am new to fruit trees. Any tips would be helpful

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: To spray or not to spray

This time of year dormant oil spray is a good thing to spray on your trees
http://www.amazon.com/Hi-Yield-32-Oz-Dormant-Spray/dp/B004XDH83M/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1391395174&sr=8-3&keywords=dormant+oil+spray
In the spring a general purpose spray that is a fungicide and an insecticide would be good. Here is an example http://www.amazon.com/Green-Light-41017-Fruit-Spray/dp/B000LO0URI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1391395072&sr=8-1&keywords=fruit+tree+spray

None of us like to spray but growing peaches without it is not possible in my area with the knowledge that I have.

o

A sprayer like this works fine http://www.amazon.com/Chapin-20000-1-Gallon-Garden-Sprayer/dp/B000E28UQU/ref=sr_1_13?ie=UTF8&qid=1391395380&sr=8-13&keywords=dormant+oil+spray
Everyone always asks about organic methods and I'm not saying it can't be done but it can be challenging. Apples are sometimes grown organically using kaolin clay http://www.groworganicapples.com/organic-orcharding-articles/surround-kaolin-clay.php/
brown rot is the nemesis of organic peach growers as black rot is to organic grape growers but here is a link with some suggestions http://woodleaffarm.com/growing-peaches/

o

Thank you for the info and links. I will look into it

o

Search the universities websites and get additional info before you start spraying. The info I gave you is just basic knowledge to give you a rough idea of where to start. Here is an actual guide to follow http://extension.unh.edu/resources/files/resource000503_rep525.pdf

o

Ryan,