Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bsmith321

Blueberries - Ammonium Sulfate Question

BSmith321
12 years ago

I've been managing blueberries for the past 6 years with blood meal and pelletized sulfur. I have had great success using these two items. This year I picked up some Honeywell Sulf-N ammonium sulfate soluble (21-0-0-24S). This product comes in three types Granular, Mid, Soluble but I could only get the soluble (http://www51.honeywell.com/sm/sulfn/na/agriculture-sub/products.html).

In the past I have always applied blood meal in late March to early April at a rate of 3/4 to 1 cup per bush (age 3-4 or older). I have read from many edu extension websites for (age 3-4) that 1/4 cup of ammonium sulfate in Mid-May and another 1/4 cup in Mid-June is sufficient.

My first question is does anyone fertilize with ammonium sulfate and if so what is your application rates based on age of the plant? What form does your ammonium sulfate come in (Granular, Mid, Soluble)?

Since I have purchased the soluble form and this was the only form available of ammonium sulfate would I just dissolve 1/4 cup in a quart of water and water it in? Or could I side dress the plant with the raw soluble fertilizer and let it work it's way in over time? I'm use to applying blood meal to the soil surface in a one time application so using ammomium sulfate is new to me and I don't want to hurt the roots!

Comments (7)

• fruitnut Z7 4500ft SW TX
    12 years ago

BSmith:

You are right in that 21-0-0 can burn the roots. I mix one tablespoon in 3 gal water for soil application. Applying a 1/4 cup in a quart of water will burn the roots at least in the small area of application. This might not set a big plant back very much but could kill a young plant.

I'd either mix it in more water or apply it dry and water in with liberal amounts of water.

What does your fertilizer say is the total S content of that fertilizer? I'm curious if that's 21-0-0 plus 24% additional S.

• riverman1
    12 years ago