Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jwilliams057

Planting apple trees

jwilliams057
17 years ago

I recently purchased two fuji apple trees and I want to plant them in my yard, but I'm not sure how to pick the best spot. I have a few questions:

1) How close together do they need to be planted for best cross-pollination?

2) Approximately what distance from the house should they be planted? I don't want slab problems and my husband freaks about trees too close to the house.

3) Our house faces the south and we get a lot of nice morning sun from the south and evening sun from the north. Which would be better, evening sun or morning?

I think that is all for now, but any tips are advice would be nice. I'm new to this gardening thing, but I'm loving it. Thanks.

Comments (6)

• dannic_az
    17 years ago

Do you have any other apple varieties planted in your yard? I think you need more than one variety for pollination; fruit set. I'm no expert, but that was what I have been told. Others could tell you more. Good luck! As far as spacing, it might be good to know if they are standard, semi dwarf or dwarf trees. Dannic

• mscratch
    17 years ago

Fuji will not pollinate fuji so you need another pollinator such as Rome, Golden Delicious, Granny Smith, Braeburn. You didnt mention as stated whether they are standard, dwarf, etc. as that will determine your planting distance. You can also type in Fuji apple in your search engine and get a great deal of info. Good Luck and happy growing.

• jwilliams057
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Drat! I didn't know that I needed two different types. I'm not sure about the dwarf, etc. It is supposed to grow to approximately 15 ft high and about 10 ft wide.

Will they still produce fruit without cross pollination, but just not at the same rate?

• applenut_gw
    17 years ago

Fuji's are self-fertile and will fruit just fine without another pollinator. We have many isolated trees in town that are loaded each year.