Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dgsgardens

Will Bing and Utah Giant Cherries Pollinate each other

dgsgardens
16 years ago

Hello,

Newbie here and a beginner taking up gardening in my backyard.

Am in Oakley/Brentwood, CA. Zone 9. For those of you who are not aware of these cities, they fall in the San Francisco East Bay area.

Just got Bing cherry and Utah giant cherry trees from Costco. Both require cross pollination. The Bing label lists only Lambert, Rainer or Van varieties as aceeptable pollinators. Utah Gaint lists Bing as one of its acceptable pollinators.

Almost everywhere I read on the web, only the above 3 that appear on the Bind label are listed as pollinators for Bing.

So the question is whether the Bing will be pollinated by the Utah Giant as well or would I need another pollinator?

Have one more question.

I bought the cherry trees from Costco yesterday (Haven't planted them yet, but did water them immediately). These are from the Coiner Nursery and are grafted, about 6+ feet tall (no leaves yet) and are in a 10/15 gallon container. The label doesn't say dwarf/semi-dwarf - so I think it's a standard tree.

But I happened to visit Lowes on the way and noticed that Lowes had the Bing and Stella in Semi-Dwarfs for much cheaper than Costco and the trees already had lot of green on them. They were a smaller root stock though. The Lowes one year plant guarantee policy is very attractive and is what putting me in a dilema.

Should I keep the ones from Costco - More mature, larger rootstock, Much taller trees. Overall more mature.

OR

Should I get the ones from Lowes - Cheaper (are $23 versus $37 at Costco). Already thriving and better cared for in the Lowes garden center than Costco would have theirs. One Year guarantee. Disadvantages - Smaller, younger rootstock (5 gallons). I don't if semi-dwarf would be a disadvantage. Would semi-dwarf mean lower yields, slightly altered taste?

What are your thoughts?

Comments (18)

• joereal
    16 years ago