Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thelostchin

Lower portion of raspberry bush turning yellow

thelostchin
11 years ago

Hi Gardenweb! This is my first time posting as a new member, but I've been reading these forums for awhile now! Today, I need some expert opinions on whether my poor raspberry bush is dying. The lower portion of my plant is looking droopy, sad, and yellow. some of the leaves have some holes. I don't know if it is damage from when we were planting it last weekend or if it's not doing well. I think I have clay soil and prior to planting it, I used Amend soil, peat moss, cow manure, some potting mix and mixed it around in the home I dug for it.

Please help!

This post was edited by thelostchin on Mon, Mar 25, 13 at 12:16

Comments (14)

• thelostchin
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Here is another photo of it

• jtburton
    11 years ago

If the soil is clay, you would be better off planting the raspberry in a raised bed or at least mound the soil to allow the roots to set higher for better drainage. I killed off several raspberries until I figured that out but my soil is nearly all clay, so it was a requirement. You can test the drainage by digging a hole of equal depth and pouring water in until it pools. If it takes more than a few hours to drain, then wet soil could be an issue.

Chlorosis, iron deficiency, can also cause yellowing of the leaves. You can add back in the iron to correct the problem.

And the final answer is soil pH. If the soil is too acidic or too alkaline, you could end up with sickly plant. You can test it and then amend it as necessary to get to the range for raspberries(about 5.5 - 7 pH).

• thelostchin
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you for your response.

Even though I added amend, manure, peat and potting soil, you don't think that is enough?

The top of the plant is still putting out new growth, though. Does the plant look like it may die even though the top is still putting out new growth?

• jtburton