Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
raymondo17

Bumper/Barren Blueberries

raymondo17
11 years ago

I have two blueberry plants in half wine barrels side by side. I've had them for several years now. This year, the Reveille is laden with fruit buds. But while it's leafing out, the O'Neal has barely a handful of fruit buds. Both were planted at the same time. Both have been watered the same, fertilized the same, etc. Why would one plant produce a bumper crop while the plant two feet away has barely a blossom?

Comments (6)

• fireduck
    11 years ago

Hi R....I have been studying blueberry growing for only a couple of months...so my 3 plants does not make me an expert. Some thoughts: did the o"Neal fruit real heavy last year? (stressed out this year). Also, is your soil the same. Of course you realize acidic soil is quite important. goodluck

• john_in_sc
    11 years ago

O'neal is an old Southern Highbush variety... May not be getting enough chill hours in California...

I would look into one of the "Rabbit eye" varieties instead (Vaccinium ashei)... These tend to be much better in the southern end of Blueberry propagation... Typical varieties you run across are Tifblue, Powder blue, Climax, etc.

Thanks

• blueboy1977
    11 years ago

From what Ive read about Oneal is it is a lite bearer. Just a trait of the variety. If a blueberry is water stressed in the fall when producing fruit buds it wont make as many also. Could be a combination of both? At any rate, Oneal doesnt produce a lot of fruit but the quality is supposed to be very good. Kind of a trade off??? Sweetcrisp is the same way. Some growers on this board like Sweetcrisp for that reason. Lite fruit loads means no bud thinning, less work, great fruit.

• raymondo17
    Original Author
    11 years ago