Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
galagala_gw

Rabbit Damage

galagala
10 years ago

Just today was able to get into my orchard. "NOT NICE"!!! Looks like Nagisaki after the bomb. The rabbits decimated trunk and limbs above the tree guards. "BAD" If there is bright side to this, it is the fact they didn't touch the Peach, Pear and Cherry. How do you explain that? Any how--- I am no longer Mr. Nice Guy, from now on I am Elmer Fudd with an attitude (And a trap). Now----Anyone with An idea on how to treat all these trees? I still need to spray oil---will oil in the areas where the bark is missing do any harm? Any one of you Proffeshinals have any ideas?? Yeah---- I know I am loosing my spelling!! That's what happens in old age!

'

Comments (7)

• Dan.NY
    10 years ago

I feel for you as I am in the same boat! IM not a pro at all, but I found this and will likely be trying it or some variation.

http://www.ipm.iastate.edu/ipm/hortnews/2010/3-17/rabbitrepair.html

• mjmarco
    10 years ago

Yep they like apple the best skipped right past my cherry and peach trees .

Same thing happen to mine 4 years ago there's a very long thread on here somewhere on page 6 called Major Rabbit Damage on Apple Trees how to fix, It has pictures and how they healed. They were 10 year old trees when they were damaged....wild life is a endless battle here...good luck.

http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/fruit/msg030837171557.html?69

• Dan.NY
    10 years ago

good link. thanks. My trees are 100% girdled. All the way around so I do no think they will recover unless I do bridge grafting. I realize its a desperation attempt but nothing to lose.