Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need help with grapes...

Posted by NAUgrad2005 Idaho (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 6, 13 at 16:07

I planted 3 different varieties of grapes when I moved into my home 6 years ago: Thompson's Seedless green grapes, Concord grapes and a red grape. The plants did well and bore fruit each year, but I've lost my crops the past 2 years due to powdery mildew. The vines grow in a planter area in the corner of my backyard but span roughly 15 feet wide along the fence. During the season, I was diligent with keeping my vines open and airy. This year, I think I'll try to treat them. I'm at a loss of what to do this spring though,,,should I cut off any areas that still look diseased? The vines are watered by my sprinkler system daily throughout the spring and summer, although the sprinklers only run for about 10 minutes in the backyard. Please help...I'm a grape novice!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need help with grapes...

• Posted by fruitnut z7b-8a,4500ft SW TX (My Page) on
    Wed, Mar 6, 13 at 17:31

Daily water probably isn't the cause of your powdery mildew. But it's not a good schedule for grapes or even a lawn for that matter. Could you go to a weekly or twice weekly watering?

Grapes would do best with a deep watering every couple weeks. Once a week on shallow soil.

Study the info linked below and you will be an expert on PM of grapes.

Here is a link that might be useful: grape PM

o

• Posted by murky z8f pnw Portlan (My Page) on
    Wed, Mar 6, 13 at 21:00

Also its probably best to water the roots and not the foliage.

o

I had some powdery mildew last year.

This year I may try spraying with a solution of milk. I may also try EM (effective organisms).

Definitely not into soaking my food with fungicides.

o

• Posted by campv Arizona (My Page) on
    Thu, Mar 7, 13 at 14:42