Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cousinfloyd

terminal buds on scions?

cousinfloyd
11 years ago

I've read not to use the terminal ends of scions for grafting, but often I'll use the bud or two below the terminal bud. I'm grafting some potted pawpaws right now, and with pawpaws, in particular, there are sometimes only one or two well developed buds between the fruit buds and the terminal bud. The buds beneath the fruit buds seem underdeveloped and less inclined to want to grow. My question is if I'm using buds near the terminal end for grafting should I really cut the terminal bud off? Why is it recommended not to use terminal buds anyway? Am I really better cutting it off and leaving another cut place to heal than just leaving it?

Comments (6)

• dmtaylor
    11 years ago

I've been playing around with grafting for several years. So far, 50% of my grafts that have taken have had the terminal bud left on. So I don't see what the fuss is about. If you want to leave it on, leave it on. It will work just fine.

• bberry_gw
    11 years ago

Scions should come from very fast growing tree parts such as watersprouts. These contain more growth hormones and will give the graft a growth spurt. Of those water sprouts I usually use the center third. The rationale behind that is if you are favoring the leader of a tree it is best to cut somewheres near the center of the previous years growth. If everything goes right then that leader will get the most growth. Those positive results lead me to believe that the center third is the most likely to give a growth spurt. Obviously if less vigorous scions are the only parts available I will use them. I would have to say they do not perform as well but in time they can catch up. I use this rationale for plums, apples and pears. I have no experience with citrus, figs and other warm zone fruit.

• Scott F Smith
    11 years ago