Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
countrylife_gw

Apple Tree spraying/maintenance

countrylife
17 years ago

Ok. Apple tree newbie here. I bought 3 potted apple trees from Home Depot last year and planted them around June..... Yellow Delicious, Granny Smith, and Jonathan. The Jonathan actually produced 1 very small apple. Other than putting some composted manure around each tree I haven't done much of anything. All 3 trees are starting to bloom quite nicely this year since we've had a warmer than usual Spring so far.

My plan is to spray Sevin liquid about a month or so after petal fall and then every 3 weeks or so after that. Making sure I quit spraying within 30-40 days of harvest. Then start with the dormant spray and pruning after that.

Is this the right approach? Spray Sevin on a regular basis and Dormant Oil on a regular routine and then approach other options if I run into problems like diseases?

I'm a little confused about the spraying aspect of fruit growing. Spray only when you find a problem or spray regularly??

Comments (10)

• countrylife
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Something else to add is that I haven't sprayed anything since I've gotten them and they are already budded out and starting to flower. I assume it's too late to do anything now. Is that going to be a major problem in hoping to have any kind of a harvest at all this year?

• jellyman
    17 years ago

countrylife:

Spraying is a difficult topic to approach, since there are a fair number of products on the market, and the essentials of timing and application of chemicals do not lend themselves to a one paragraph explanation. It would be best for you to conduct some of your own research online, although even university websites are skittish about recommending pesticides for liability reasons, and when they do, include all kinds of disclaimers. After you do a little investigation, I think you will see what I mean about the complexity of this issue.