Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thapranksta

A couple of quick questions before planting

Tha Pranksta
12 years ago

Got my bare root trees coming in today and I want to make sure I ask a few questions before I pull out any shovel since I'm very new at this. It has been raining a lot and heavily where I live. I've been hearing and reading a lot that it's important to keep putting water in the planting hole as I am back filling to eliminate air pockets. Does this change when the soil is wet as it is now?

I know there is pruning that can be done during planting. But should the pruning be done right after planting the tree, very soon after, or any time after the tree breaks dormancy and shows buds?

Do any of you guys soak the tree roots in water or a transplant solution (Miracle Gro brand) before planting them? I thought I remember reading before that I could let them soak overnight. But I've been unable to find that information again.

Any other "gotchas"?

Thanks.

Comments (5)

• bamboo_rabbit
    12 years ago

Make sure you dig the hole just deep enough, if you dig too deep as the soil settles the tree settles and ends up too deep.

I like to backfill with water though if you are careful you don't even need to water a tree in after it is planted as long as the soil is already moist to start with.

I don't like to amend the soil..just think the trees do better and take off faster with the native soil.

Mulch the tree out at least 3 feet even if it is just a whip. By the time the roots get out there the mulch is breaking down and it is keeping the soil moist. I actually mulch my trees the day I plant them out 6 feet or so..looks silly at first but the tree grows in to the spot but we have just sand here and brutally hot sun so cool and moist is good.

• Tha Pranksta
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Do you make sure the grass around the planting hole is cut really low before you apply mulch?

I've purchased the Scott brand mulch from Lowe's.

• Tha Pranksta