Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Will the seeds from a single fruit produce identical plants?

Posted by dan8 Stockton, CA Zone 9 (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 10, 13 at 20:39

I know that often times fruits do not come true by seed.
But say I planted 20 pomegranate seeds from the one same fruit, will all of the offspring be identical or will there be variances in the set?

Or do variances only occur if I get the seeds from multiple fruits that have each been pollinated by a different tree?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Will the seeds from a single fruit produce identical plants?

Dan8:

I'm no expert but I assume all the offspring will be different to some extent.. That's how nature works. Only time your going to get indentical clones is from cloning/ grafting... Hope this helps

Joe

o

Raw is right... even though the seeds have the same parents (or parent in the case of many self-fertile plants like pomegranate), they will be genetically different since they are like regular siblings, but not twins. I imagine there is a great deal of genetic variation in pretty much any pomegranate variety.

Some plants do produce twin seeds, called polyembryonic. They are easy to recognize since you will see two embryos inside one seed coat (try opening some mango seeds and you'll almost certainly find some like this).

o

So if I plant Flavor Grenade Pluot seeds,the resulting plants may not be Flavor Grenade and could turn out to be some kind of Plum? Thanks,Brady

o

If I plant a apple seed from a granny smith. It could end up being a small red crabapple. Hope this helps.
Joe

o

If you plant seeds from a Flavor Grenade - they most likely won't be one of those.... That's an interspecies hybrid.... No telling what you will get....