Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Blueberries in Pots

Posted by bookwyrme 9 (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 27, 12 at 23:43

I have 2 Misty blueberries & 1 Sunshine in one gallon pots. I've read that the best thing for them is to be in half whiskey barrels, but they're pretty small right now. Should they be potted up to smaller pots for the year until they get bigger?

Also, what size half whiskey barrel? That sounds strange, I know, but our local garden store has 2 different sizes. I'm new to this!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Blueberries in Pots

I would go from a 1 gallon to a 5 gallon and continue to grow them out another two seasons. After one or two seasons in a 5 gallon you could go up to 15 gallon and they will live in that pot for many years. Once you notice vigour starting to slow, a good root trim and repot with fresh soil will do all the good.

What are you using for your potting media?

o

Nope. You can plant them in the 1/2 whiskey barrels right now. Bigger is better if you have the room as blueberries do have pretty extensive root systems. I use 1/2 Azaela/Camellia mix and 1/2 compost. I add about 1/4 to 1/2 cup soil sulfur to help keep the potting mix acidic enough. That will take up to a year to acidify the soil, so you might need a little aluminum sulfate sprinkled on the surface and watered in very well. Use a good pH meter to monitor the pH of the soil. I've included a nice article from DWN about growing blueberries in containers. Mine are in very large terra cotta and decorative plastic pots and are doing very well.

Patty S.

Here is a link that might be useful: Dave Wilson Nursery: Blueberries in Containers

o

I've never used a pH meter. Is there one in particular you'd recommend?

o