Return to the Fruit & Orchards Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Powdery Mildew on Blueberry Leaves

Posted by noss Zone 9a Lafayette, L (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 29, 12 at 1:11

Hello All,

I have several blueberry bushes that developed powdery mildew on the leaves, so said the people at the nursery. There are white spots that look dusty and it also affects the underside of the leaves. We had a rainy Spring and the bushes were not where they got full sun all day out in the open. That's being remedied now.

What should I use on the blueberry bushes that won't affect the fruit, or eating the fruit?

Thanks,

noss

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Powdery Mildew on Blueberry Leaves

Sulphur products typically work well.

o

• Posted by noss Zone 9a Lafayette, L (My Page) on
    Mon, Apr 30, 12 at 16:02

Hi JRG13,

Thanks. What specifically are you talking about as far as a name brand for the sulphur? I'm new to this and don't want to put something on the bushes that is not good.

There are berries on these bushes and I'd like to be able to put something on them that won't hurt me to eat them when they get ripe. Right now, there are new leaves forming on the bushes, as well, which is a good sign, I would think.

Thanks for any further elaboration you can give me.

noss

o

I'll see what products we use. I think it might just be straight elemental sulphur in the end but I'll get back to you. Once you get it controlled it usually keeps it in check for awhile.

Jeff

o

Mon, Apr 30, 12 at 20:06

Hi Jeff,

Thanks for checking on it.

We use copper sulphate for rust on fig trees.

I just need something that, hopefully, we can still eat the berries while the bush is being treated.

noss

o
Ooops! RE: Powdery Mildew on Blueberry Leaves

Mon, Apr 30, 12 at 20:07

Ooops--I meant to add, if that's at all possible.

noss

o

I use this product. its very good. use it once a week.

http://www.greencure.net/

o