Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nursejolly

Planting new blueberry bushes-rookie here!

nursejolly
11 years ago

So I'm a gardening rookie (southern california) but I bought 2 blueberry plants both in 3 gallon pots. 1 sunshine and 1 oneal. They are fairly good sized with blueberries already on them. I've read that theylike acidic soil and that I should use peat moss. The nursery advised me to buy azalea soil so I bought that. So my question is do I mix 1/3 azalea 1/3 peat moss and native soil? And when you "amend" soil are you amending the whole area before you start planting or just the soil you put back in the hole? Also I've read that I should pinch the fruit and flowers off the first year...should I assume that this plant is older than a year since its in a 3 gallon and has blueberries already or should I just go ahead and pinch off? Thank you in advance for any help!

Comments (7)

• Bradybb WA-Zone8
    11 years ago

Hello nursejolly,
    So these are going in the ground?What's the native soil like,the composition and pH?Does it drain well?
    If it's high pH like a lot of California spots,it may be better to grow them in containers,something like they're already in,maybe just a little bigger,like five to ten gallon.That way there isn't as much of a battle to keep the pH favorable.
    With container grown Blueberries,I never use native soil,just Pine or Fir bark mulch,peat moss and some Perlite if it's available.60-70% bark mulch and the rest peat.
    I've never used Azalea soil.Is it like potting soil,kind of thin like dirt?If so and they're grown in pots,I'd probably not use it,as the mix needs to be fast draining and porous.
    I'd also keep the fruit because they are of fairly good size.
    I also grow them in the ground and use about the same components as above,minus the Perlite.I suppose the Azalea soil could be used in the ground situation.
    It's also a good idea to check the pH of your irrigation water,as that can also affect pH. Brady