Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
silent88

Organic Grape Sprays?

silent88
9 years ago

Hi everyone,

Last year a lot of my grape clusters got black fungus and mildew on them and so I did not get very many good grapes. I am relatively new to this, and last year was really my first harvest. This year, I have quite a bit of clusters for red flame and some thompson seedless grapes and some are beginning to "blossom." I have heard that you need to spray the actual clusters with a fungicide to prevent fungus later on. Since I will be eating the grapes, I do not know what is safe to spray them with. I do not want to poison myself. However, I know how toxic fungal spores can be to injects, so I'm wondering what/if I should spray with that is safe for eating (eventually)? As a note, I usually practice completely organic gardening methods.

(I love on the coast of southern california so the weather is great for fungus).

Thanks,
Austin

Comments (7)

• bart1
    9 years ago

I wouldn't get too hung up on "organic" if I were you. Once you see some of the things that qualify as organic you might get a different impression.

For instance when I first started, I was spaying copper and sulfur which are considered organic (at least I think they are), since they are just good old elements that exist on Earth. But you sure wouldn't want to sprinkle these powders on your cereal in the morning!

So my advice would be to spray the most effective thing you can get your hands on and can afford. (some of the commercial sprays are VERY expensive and only sold in quantites too large for a home grower).

Other things to consider are the timing of the sprays and the PHI (or pre-harvest interval).

You have to spray your grapes (or tomatoes or melons, etc) before you see signs of a problem. The spays are preventitive treatments. They stop mildews and rots from forming, but they don't do much of anything once the plant is infected.