Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flowerchild59_gw

Haskap or Honeyberry?

flowerchild59
9 years ago

I am in zone 6 in southern Illinois, so I get extreme weather, single digits during winters or worse, and heat and humidity during our long summers, often near 100 degrees. I am doing a lot of reading on the edible honeysuckles. Is anyone growing them in the Midwest? Which ones do better for you in the heat and humidity?
Which nursery do you favor?

Comments (38)

• flowerchild59
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Come on folks!!! I need some guidance!!!

• wisconsitom
    9 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

Child-if you're still around-do a web search-way more info than I have time to type out here. But really, there's just a lot of stuff to look at. You're a little to the south of the main haskap/honeyberry region, I think, but they are working all the time on breeding to allow this fruit to be grown further south. Then too, I'm nearly a complete beginner on this, having finally-after several years of delay-ordered my first few plants. I'm up near GB, WI, so not too awfully far away.

+oM

flowerchild59 thanked wisconsitom
  • liamkelly Zone 6b Rhode Island / 5b Massachusetts
    9 years ago

Zone 6 is definitely a-okay for honeyberries, I've seen them everywhere and I live in Z6b. Just make sure they have morning/evening sun, and shade or indirect sun midday.

• flowerchild59
    Original Author
    9 years ago

thanks, I am trying several different named varieties and will see how it goes.

• wisconsitom
    8 years ago

And where I will be working with them, full sun is called for. Oconto County in NE Wisconsin, to be exact.

+oM

• danzeb
    8 years ago