Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
writtenonwater

Spray Fungicide During Full Bloom?

writtenonwater
10 years ago

This is my first year growing apple trees, so I apologize for what must be an obvious answer to others. Can you (or should you) spray fungicide (eg, Bonide Fruit and Nut Spray) during full bloom? We had a lot of rain yesterday, so it seems like the right time to do it, but for the blooms.

Thank you!!

Comments (18)

• hoseman
    10 years ago

Best time to spray is right before the rain, second best time is just right after the rain. I do not know the Bonide Fruit and Nut spray, but if there is any pesticide in it, then do not spray during bloom. I expect you know that, but worth repeating.

• ltilton
    10 years ago

If that's the product I think it is, Bonide's "natural" all-purpose spray, it does indeed contain insecticides and must not be sprayed during bloom.

• alan haigh
    10 years ago

Fungicides intended for use on rust and scab can generally be applied at full bloom, but you should read the Bonide label before even posting this question. If it is, in fact, an all purpose pre-mix (good for nothing, in the case of Bonide, IMO) the label will explain how to use it and what all it allegedly controls.

I suggest you search this site for recent questions on spray programs- I believe you will quickly find important info.

• writtenonwater
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you all! I thought Bonide Fruit and Nut spray was a fungicide only, but it turns out it's also an insecticide. Upsetting to learn since the sales person told me otherwise. Do you have recommendations on a fungicide to use?

• writtenonwater
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Also, I meant to say I do have Monterey Liquicop Copper Fungicide. Would that work during full bloom? Thank you much!

• alan haigh
    10 years ago

Did you read the label on that copper?